Collecting Materials Chapter 34

All rights belong to the original authors (duh).


Raw


A Man Named Shuu


 I was able to buy some materials at Lumia’s store, and on my way home I dropped by the magic tool store to get some magic tools.

 I bought a magical stove, which I had been wanting for a long time. After all, it’s inconvenient to cook with only one stove.

 Usually, one stove is enough to carry around, but I have a magic bag, so I’m not going to weigh myself down by getting a second.

 By the way, the price of the magic stove here was a whopping fifteen gold coins.

 Eight gold coins …… This is the moment when I truly understood how much Podan, who gave me one for only five gold coins, was doing me a favor.

 There is one more magic tool that I bought. It is a magical tool that emits cold air.

 It is now the comfortable season of spring, but there are seasons in this world, and the next one is summer.

 Of course, there is no such thing as air conditioning in this world, so I thought it was essential to prepare for the coming summer.

 Additionally, I thought it would be useful to have one for making small dishes such as ice cream.

 This one cost eighteen gold coins, which is a little more expensive than the magic stove.

 Thirty-three gold coins were spent on the magic tools, but between the money saved in Ferumi Village, the requests I took with the guild, Klaus’s nominated requests, and the sales to Lumia, there is still quite a bit of money left.

 In addition, I still have some Kurz fruit on hand.

 It’s not as if I have a lot of money to spend, but I’ve got a good foundation to live on.

 I was in a good mood after buying the magic tools, and soon arrived at my base, the Cat’s Tail Pavilion.

 The sky had already begun to take on an Akaneiro hue, and on the floor that had been turned into a tavern, the light from the magic tools was already leaking out.[1]

 There were lively toasts and joyful laughter.

 It’s nice to have a lively place to return to, isn’t it?

“Hey! Shuu, welcome back! How was the alchemist’s store?” (Mia)

 As I stepped onto the floor, Mia immediately asked me about today’s events, so I told her about them.

“Hold on! It’s going to be longer than you’d expect, so let’s sit down and talk.” (ちょっと待つにゃ! 思ったより長そうにゃから座って話すにゃ) (Shuu)

 I felt like I was going to get in the way by standing there, so Mia urged me to take a seat at an empty counter. And Mia sat down next to me.

“By the way, is it okay for a waitress to sit here?” (Shuu)

“It’s okay because it’s not crowded yet! And it’s part of the service for the waitress to talk to the customers like this!” (Mia)

 I’m happy to have good food and drinks, and a lovely beastman waitress to talk to.

“Bandel-san, please give me and Mia some fruit juice. I’ll pay for it.” (Shuu)

“Nya nya! Shuu, you’re so generous!” (Mia)

“Thanks for the information on the stores.” (Shuu)

“Shuu is a good guy!” (Mia)

 There’s a waitress sitting with me, and I’d feel awkward if I didn’t prepare anything for her.

 I wouldn’t have gone to Lumia’s store without Mia’s information. It was just a small thank you.

 Soon after, Bandel-san prepared fruit juice, and Mia and I toasted with the juice.

 The juice was refreshingly sour and sweet. The fruit juice here is interesting because they change the fruit every day, so the taste changes slightly every day.

 Today’s juice was a mixed juice with a slight strawberry flavor, which was very interesting.

 It was very cold and tasty, probably because it was chilled by a magical device like a refrigerator that emits cold air.

“Nya-! It’s a great drink to have after work.” (Mia)

“No, no, your shift isn’t over yet.” (Shuu)

 I couldn’t help but interrupt Mia, who was drinking like an old man.

 Nonetheless, neither Bandel-san nor the other waitresses seemed to care, as if this was a normal occurrence for Mia.

“Come on, let’s talk about the alchemist’s store!” (Mia)

 To Mia’s urging, I told her about today’s events.

 I told her about the alchemist’s potion near the southern castle gate that Mia had recommended. The fact that they tried to scam me on the materials. (素材を買い叩かれそうになったこと。) On the contrary, the alchemist in the west, where Mia had a subtle reaction, had a cute shopkeeper, good quality potions, and bought the materials at a fair price.

“Nya-ya! I didn’t think that the alchemist there was doing that!” (Mia)

“The store in the south was lousy, but the store in the west was good. It didn’t have a lot of products, but the apprentice alchemist, Lumia, was very cute, and the customer service was very good.” (Shuu)

“…… a cute apprentice alchemist?” (Mia)

 Did a different person serve customers when Mia went?

 I explain Lumia’s appearance and the politeness of the customer service to Mia who tilts her head.

“There was no one like that when I was there before. It was a human woman with languid red hair who came out.” (Mia)

 Could she be Lumia’s mentor?

 I don’t know, I’ve never met her before.

“I was told that she only recently acquired alchemy skills, so it’s possible Lumia-san only recently became an apprentice. Maybe that’s why the store’s atmosphere has changed.” (Shuu)

 Although she is a bit strange in some ways, Lumia is basically a woman with high girl power. (ちょっと変わったところもあるけど、基本的に女子力の高いルミアだ。)

 It’s only natural that the store’s reputation would rise if she were in charge of customer service.

“I see what you mean. If Shuu says so, I’ll go to the west store from now on when I have business with alchemy.” (Mia)

“Yes, I think that would be better.” (Shuu)

 By the time we had finished talking about the alchemists, many customers had arrived.

 There was a constant chorus of orders, and another beastman waitress came around to serve food and drinks.

“Hey, are you sure you don’t have to get back to work soon?” (Shuu)

“Shh! Don’t say anything like that. If we keep talking, I can skip work.” (Mia)

“Oh, you’re going to skip work? Mia?” (Croy)

“Nyanyaaa!? Croy!?” (Mia)

 When Mia was trying to hide, a voice suddenly called out from behind her.

 There was a beastman woman with cat ears, just like Mia.

 Unlike the cute and small Mia, she was a tall and beautiful woman.

 Her hair, ears and tail were black, so I guess she was a black cat.

“Shuu, Shuu, …….” (Mia)

 Mia looked at me as if asking for help.

 She looks at me with big, moist eyes, but I am not fooled.

“I’m finished with my story, go and take her.” (Shuu)

“I’m glad you’re so understanding. Come on, Mia, get to work.” (Croy)

“Nyaa! Shuu is terrible!” (Mia)

 Mia, who was taken away by Croy, raised a tragic voice.

 Croy was in front of me while Bandel-san was behind me.

 I didn’t have the courage or the ability to talk my way out of it.

“Master Saffie! I’ve got an amazing material!” (Lumia)

 While I was extracting the light-emitting organs of the light bugs, Lumia came into the workshop in a good mood.

 Even without looking at her, I could tell that her face was relaxed.

 She said earlier that an adventurer came to sell the materials.

 There are a lot of adventurers who don’t have the proper knowledge and use the wrong methods to deliver useless materials, but I guess that wasn’t the case with this guy.

“Yes. That’s good to hear.” (Master Saffy)

 I’m currently working with smelting tools, so I don’t have time to pay attention to Lumia’s discussion about materials.

 This light bug stores much stronger light than any I’ve seen before.

 I had requested it from the adventurer’s guild a long time ago, and had forgotten about it until it was delivered, but it seems that there are better adventurers out there who can capture such a high-quality light bug.

 I contacted the guild, and I think his name was Shuu? I think I might be able to put in a request for this guy.

 If you use these light bugs, you can make something that far surpasses ordinary glow balls. If you combine them with sound bugs to create strong light and sound, you can knock even demons into a coma.

 High quality materials are great because they opens up a world of possibilities.

“You know, Master, I got some really great, high quality kurtz fruit.” (Lumia)

“I see. If it’s a high quality material, Lumia’s skill can make a high quality intermediate potion. You can give it a try.” (Saffy)

 Lumia’s skill is still not good enough to make a high quality potion. But you can make up for it by using high quality materials.

 Using normal quality materials is different from the feeling of using high quality materials.

 Since she have appraised and purchased the material herself, it would be best to let her try.

“Are you sure you don’t mind if I use it? I bought this Kurz fruit for eleven gold coins. ……” (Lumia)

“Wait a minute! How in the world did you get such a price!? If it’s a Kurz fruit, even if it’s a high quality one, it’s probably five silver coins at best–” (Saffy)

 The outrage that the apprentice bought the material at a price more than ten times the market price forced me to stop the work.

 Lumia may not have the skills to appraise, but she does have an eye for materials. This is why I entrusted her with the purchase of the materials, because I believed in her.

 When I quickly took out the light-emitting organ of the light bug and looked toward Lumia, I saw the Kurz fruit, which was as large as a human face.

“…… What a size!” (Saffy)

“I know! I’ve seen a lot of Kurz fruits, but I’ve never seen one as big as this!” (Lumia)

 I’ve been an alchemist for a while now, but I haven’t seen one as big as this ever since I asked the court wizard for one – no, this one is bigger than that one.

 And now that there were two of them, it was nothing but shocking.

 It’s no wonder that Lumia bought it for eleven gold coins.

“You said that an adventurer brought it to you? What’s his name?” (Saffy)

 I’m sure he’s a famous adventurer. He must be a very famous adventurer.

“It’s Shuu-san.” (Lumia)

 Shuu? I’ve heard that name before.

 Specifically, the adventurer who completed the request for the delivery of the light bugs also had that name.

 But the adventurer’s rank was F, the lowest of all adventurers. Can such a man pour so much magical power into Kurz fruit?

“I’ll send out a nominated request and call him.” (Saffy)

 I was just thinking of assigning a nomination request to an adventurer named Shuu. It’s a quick way to call him up and see if he’s the same person who brought the Kurz fruit.

 I thought it was about time that Lumia got some experience in collecting them.

“I’ll use this to make an intermediate potion.” (Lumia)

“No, that’s too much for Lumia. I’ll use it. You should read and study this book about gathering materials.” (Saffy)

 When I took away the cruciferous fruit and gave her the book instead, Lumia looked vaguely unhappy.


EDN:

[1] Akaneiro – madder red


3 thoughts on “Collecting Materials Chapter 34

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started